2013 Goals

“Make a New Year’s resolution list that includes 10 goals. They don’t all have to be writing-related, but at least 3 of them do. Then refer to this post often this year and update it as you complete your goals.”

I know, it has been quite a long time since I’ve written. Shortly after I started blogging again, I got put on new medication and I moved out of my apartment. Needless to say I got out of the habit of blogging and I’m trying to get back into the habit. Sometimes I wish I had a deadline or at least a wingman (or woman). Who knows, maybe after I get married next month (yes married!), I’ll find someone in the town my fiance lives in who also likes to write. Until then, I guess I’m on my own.

The above quote is a Writer’s Digest Writing prompt. I subscribe to the WD Newsletter and once a week there’s a new prompt. I decided that I’d use that prompt to help me get back into blogging. So here are my goals for 2013:

  1. Write a blog post at least once a week until May in hopes that by the time May comes I’ll be back into the swing of blogging.
  2. Stop blaming myself for every little thing that happens. Similarly, stop apologizing for things that I had no hand in.
  3. Finish my novel Heat Rises, get it edited and self-published. Also write two additional novels (or finish the other three novels that I’ve started).
  4. Steampunk my study at my future husband’s house.
  5. Participate in my groups on Experience Project by writing stories about my experiences.
  6. Let God lead in my life rather than trying to lead my own.
  7. Spend more one-on-one time with my rescue dog. Since my Shih Tzu and my mother’s Toy Poodle mix are a lot more social/secure, my Rat Terrier often gets overlooked due to her insecurities.
  8. Tone down my OCD and control freak tendencies. Just because I’m not doing a particular task doesn’t mean it won’t get done right.
  9. Complete various scrapbook projects and enter them into the county fair in August.
  10. Write in my journal more than twice a month.

When I make goals/resolutions, I try to make ones that I know are feasible and that I can attain. For me the worst thing to do is set goals and not be able to follow through with them. Perhaps, if I finish these goals by the time June comes around, I might create another set of goals for the rest of the year. However, let me not get ahead of myself.

Did anyone else create goals/resolutions for the next year?

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

