Writer, Stop Fighting Thyself!

I can think of many reasons why I haven’t written anything (blog posts, stories, poems, musings, etc) over the past week and a half. Some of these reasons are even valid: I’ve gotten blood work done, I’ve had shots, I’ve had a pap smear, I’ve had a cold, I’ve become obsessed…er, interested in The Walking Dead, it’s been cold, it’s been very pretty outside, it’s been raining, my husband is at work most of the day, my husband comes home late at night…

That being said, I can’t find a valid reason for not writing, except The Walking Dead. What? That’s not even a valid reason? Surely you jest!

Seriously though, I have no clue why I haven’t been writing. I have a whole lot of uninterrupted time during the day (10-12 hours) and I could get a whole lot of writing done in that time. I guess part of it is I’m still adjusting to being married and being in a new house. I’ve been trying to get the house so that I feel like it is my home and it’s taken me longer than I thought.

But, now that the owners of the second Persian took her back in, I think I’m on my way to getting the house the way it is. My Heeler and Shih Tzu and their crates are going to be in the spare bedroom. That means I don’t have to share my study with a huge dog crate anymore. Perhaps once all of these things are in place, I’ll finally feel at home and I’ll be able to resume my writing again.

Funny thing is, I can’t say I have writer’s block. I have so many stories and blog posts in my head that sometimes I think my head is going to explode and words are going to fly all around. There will be no brain matter because the words would have consumed all of it. Basically, all I need to do is sit down and write.

But my hand won’t pick up a pen.

My fingers won’t type.

My inner critic tells me that everything I write will turn to dust.

My inner coach reminds me that I wrote most of a novel during NaNoWriMo.

My perfectionist nature tells me that if it isn’t going to come out perfect then I shouldn’t write at all.

Translation: I spend more time fighting myself about why I’m writing or not writing, or why I should or should not write than I actually do on writing. Maybe I should write about that.

Oh wait, I already did.

So to my inner critic: Shut up! It’s not going to turn to dust. Go away and leave me alone. I’ll call you when I’m editing my story.

To my inner coach: Thanks for reminding me. Keep reminding me of that. Oh and remind me to finish that NaNoWriMo novel too.

To my perfectionist nature: That’s what editing is for! There is a reason why these things are called “rough draft!” I’m going to tell you the same thing as I told inner critic. Shut up, leave me alone, and I’ll call you when I need you.

 

So, until next time…keep writing and gag and tie your inner critic to a chair!

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

2 responses to “Writer, Stop Fighting Thyself!

  • t h i n g s + f l e s h

    the writing isn’t the hard part, it’s the commitment. when you commit to writing regularly (a small blog post every day, even just a line), the stakes for each thing you write go down. there’s less and less pressure to be great all the time. the amazing truth is that not every thing an artist makes is brilliant. but when enough things are, she leaves her mark. tony

Leave a Reply

