So You Want to Be a Groomer?

When I told people that I got a job bathing dogs (and in the future probably grooming dogs) I got one of two reactions. Reaction 1: That’s wonderful! Working with dogs is right up your alley. Reaction 2: You have a Masters, why are you grooming dogs?

Most people fell into the first category. Only a couple people were truly upset that I was going into this field. These were the people who I expected to understand the most because they’ve known me the longest, but perhaps that’s the reason why they objected the most. What’s funny about these two people is one of them recently reconnected with me when she found out I was getting married, and the other is a friend’s mother who feels like she knows best.

No matter how many people congratulated me, I still was a bit hurt by their comments. I couldn’t get their comments out of my head (even though I could have deleted them off of facebook). I have to remind myself that their opinion doesn’t matter. My parents and my other friends who are looking out for my happiness–not just money–are the people whose opinions really matter.

That being said I think I’m going to love my job. I got to hang out with the groomers yesterday and all of them are really nice. They were eager to answer my questions. In fact everyone at the Petsmart where I work are really nice people. I can’t complain.

So, I’ve told myself to put the hurtful comments out of my mind and focus on being the best dog bather that I can be.

Until next time…keep your fur clean.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

3 responses to “So You Want to Be a Groomer?

  • Raud

    We all have our journeys to make and sometimes others want us to live theirs, that it somehow confirms that the choices they made were the correct ones. Go for it. Enjoy it. Bathe away.

  • bondeddogblog

    From what i know about you I think you are an amazing individual. You love dogs so why wouldn’t you want to be around them even more? If we lived closer I would take my dogs to you for grooming.

    You also have a masters degree in library and information studies so I know you are really hard working and smart. Probably really smart. But your also not the kind of person who thinks that your education makes you above everyone else. You are smart AND nice and you are not afraid of hard work. You care about animals AND people.

    In a time when it is tough to find a job you got a job, so that is something to be excited about! Especially because it is something you are interested in. People are going to say “it’s not a library” but who cares? If you don’t, then they shouldn’t. I know a lot of people who couldn’t get jobs in their “chosen fields” when they got out of school with a degree that matched. Some of them are really lost right now. You found something else you love.

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

