Goodbyes & Hellos

Sorry I’ve been MIA. It took me a couple weeks to get used to working. Now that I’m used to it I can go back to my usual Wednesday posts…maybe even more because working at a dog grooming salon is fodder for many blog posts like: the different types of owners, what over-coddling can do to one’s dog, the perks of being a dog bather, the downside of being a dog bather, and many others. However, I’ll save those for another week.

A little update on what’s going on at our house. We had to give Shelby back to my dad. She had become a very good escape artist to the point that I was always worried about her at work because I feared that she’d hurt herself trying to get out of the crate. My husband and I were very sad to see her go, but from what my dad has told me Shelby is happy to be back with her brother and parents. He thinks she misses being inside, though.

After Shelby left, I toyed with the idea of getting another dog that would enjoy being inside. I searched local shelter websites and found two Shih Tzu at the OKC shelter and a Poodle Schnauzer mix at the Moore Shelter. Unfortunately the two Shih Tzu weren’t up for adoption (I think they were picked up as strays, but had owners), so I turned my attention to the Poodle mix. I even called about him once.

Then one day he disappeared off of the website. I don’t know if he was adopted or not. Needless to say I was a bit disheartened, but I knew that it wasn’t meant to be. I decided to take a break from searching for dogs for a little while, build up my banking account, and then start a search again.

I never had to search for a dog thanks to our Persian. Close to midnight my husband told me that Holly, the Persian, had plastic stuck between her teeth. She is notorious for chewing on plastic. I saw that it was a plastic zip-tie. However, neither of us could dislodge it. So we went to the nearest 24-hour vet, which is about five miles away.

It didn’t take long for the vet to extract the zip-tie. In fact it took so little time that she didn’t even charge us. After that “ordeal” was over, we stayed and talked for awhile longer. We also played with the office animals which consisted of a dog and three of the cats that live at the facility. All, but one of the cats, were up for adoption. The dog, an Australian Shepherd named Shaffer, bonded with my husband and I. The vet told us that he’d never bonded with anyone outside of her. We both fell in love with the dog.

To make a long story short, after we took our two Shih Tzu to visit him, we decided that we wanted to adopt him. So today I checked my banking account and found out I got paid. Withdrawing $80 I ran my errands and then went to pick up Shaffer. The vet cried. Shaffer seemed scared at first. Then we got to Petsmart so I could give him a bath and brush. He dragged me into the store; his tail was up and he was curious about everything. Good sign.

After a bath and brush, we came home and let him explore. Right now all of the dogs are sleeping. The girls aren’t sure what to do with their new brother, but I’m sure the three of them will become friends eventually.

Anyway, without further ado, here is a picture of my new boy.

Image

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

3 responses to “Goodbyes & Hellos

Leave a Reply

