Things Dog Groomers Wish You Knew

1. Please remember the your groomer is caring for three or four other dogs. That means that your patience is greatly appreciated.

2. Try to relax when dropping your dog off. Your anxiety directly affects the dog and if you’re nervous about the trip, then your dog will think that this is a bad place to be. We want the dog to enjoy the groom not fear it.

3. Please, please, please don’t call to check up on your dog unless it is past time to pick the dog up. Every time your groomer has to answer the phone and you’re merely wondering how your dog is doing means that it takes your groomer longer to groom the pets.

4. Be specific about what you want, even if it means bringing in a picture. Your groomer wants to please you, but can’t if you don’t know what you want. Similarly, your groomer knows what he or she is doing so listen to his or her advice especially when it comes to breed specific cuts.

5. Treat your groomer kindly, not simply because your groomer is doing you a service, but because sometimes the groomer deals with difficult dogs and might be stressed. Your groomer really appreciates smiles and thank yous.

6. Don’t be afraid to ask your groomer for advice concerning coat care. Your groomer is probably the best source of information.

I hope the above doesn’t sound too harsh, but groomers encounter these things every day. For those who don’t (or in some cases do) the above, groomers really appreciate you.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

2 responses to “Things Dog Groomers Wish You Knew

  • tia

    I feel there could be a lot more added to this list. It does explain some key points but doesn’t tackle the major problems groomer have with their clients. Like them understanding that no matter how much experience I have or how professional I am being I am still human. And by default I make mistakes. I don’t mean to but deemed professional means I can’t make mistakes or that’s unprofessional. No I make mistakes there is no way to predict ever possible think a dog can do. I am human, I am not magick, or prefect. I am human!

    • Siege

      I couldn’t agree with you more Tia! I did leave quite a bit out. I was just starting my job as a bather, so I was still learning. I’ve since moved on to a different career (ie put my Masters in Library and Information Studies to good use). However, I will keep in mind what you said and if I ever get around to updating this list, I will definitely add it. Thanks for your reply.

Leave a Reply

