Life in Tornado Alley

It’s been awhile, I know. A lot has happened since I last posted. Last week a tornado ripped through Moore, OK. I was at work at the time; the tornado was across the street. It was an EF5 and had the tornado actually hit my workplace few, if any, of us would have survived. Fortunately, the tornado did not hit Petsmart.

Unfortunately, the tornado leveled several parts of town. Many people and their pets have no place to call home anymore. I drove through some of these neighborhoods and started crying due to all of the destruction.

However, the people of Moore are strong people and immediately after the storm everyone banded together to get things taken care of. These are the times that my faith in humanity is renewed. People have come from all over the United States to help us clean up the city. Temporary housing additions have been put up for the displaced people. Temporary shelters have been put up for displaced pets. It makes me cry and smile at the same time.

My husband and I were blessed. The tornado did not touch our house so our six animals, who were home alone, stayed safe. Once we were allowed to leave work, my priority was to get home to my crew. It took me four and a half hours to get home because traffic kept getting rerouted as there were trees and debris in the street. My husband got home before me and let me know that the animals were okay.

The only thing worse than it taking four and a half hours to go three miles is it taking four and a half hours to go three miles while having a full bladder. First thing I did as soon as I got home was run to the bathroom.

I later found out that two friends of the family lost their homes. One of the families lost everything including one of their dogs. As for the other family, we’re fostering their cat. There were two cats, but yesterday one of them had to be put down–kidney failure; he was thirteen years old.

All in all this past week has been physically and emotionally draining. I am happy to report that my job has been kind enough to give free baths to those who suffered damage from the storm.

On a less depressing note, I got a new laptop. It’s an HP Envy I do believe. I got it because my husband and I like to play Minecraft and my other HP didn’t run it all that well. This laptop does. As for my other laptops, I gave my HP to my mom and my Toshiba will go to my dad. Yeah, that’s what we do in our family. Whenever I get a new laptop, one of my parents gets the old one. Usually my dad will even pay me some for my old laptop.

Well I think that’s it for this post. I promise the next post will be less depressing. Oh, and concerning the next post, cat lovers beware. I talk about my dislike for cats and the reasons why.

Stay tuned…and remember to keep your friends close and your favorite squeaky toy closer.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

