Life in Tornado Alley 2: Revenge of the Blackout

We thought the worst of it was over, but no. It wasn’t. The tornado was back and this time it brought it’s appetite for electricity. It struck the power lines like a pond of crocodiles striking a herd of water buffalo during their migration. It left most of the city without power. Some had their power back that night. Some the next night. For my husband and I, we didn’t get electricity until four days later.

During the day it wasn’t so bad. We had enough windows in the house to make up for the lack of electricity. Night was the hard part. With no electricity we only had two options, go out or go to bed. A couple times we went to his mother’s house to take a hot shower.

Where were the animals in all of this? They were chilling around the house. I think they knew something was wrong, but not having electricity didn’t affect them one bit. Shaffer lazed by the door. Haley by the TV cabinet or on one of the chairs. Molly in her crate. The cats did whatever cats do.

I realized that I am a modern child and I don’t think I could give up electricity and live a “simple” life. I like my refrigerator, my washer, my dryer, my hot showers, Internet, and being able to be on my laptop and not worry about how long the battery will last.

Currently we have little to no food in our refrigerator. We had to throw all of it out. Fortunately, the city has a spoiled food disposal place due to the citywide outage. We dropped our spoiled food off there. Tomorrow, though, we’re going to go grocery shopping. I’m kind of excited. We’ll have food again.

Anyway, I said all of that to say this. I apologize for not writing last week. It has been a rough few weeks. I hope all of the bad storms are in the past…at least for this year and I’m hoping that we’ll have our new house by this time next year.

So, until next time…hang onto your hats because it’s windy.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

