Why I’m Glad I Own the Dogs I Do

Working in a grooming salon has made me appreciate my dogs a whole lot more. I used to get annoyed at my dogs’ quirks: Shaffer’s cat litter eating (actually that still annoys me), Haley’s bladder and bowls of steel on rainy days, Molly’s poo eating (wait, that’s still annoying). However, days like yesterday made me come home, hug my dogs, and tell them that I’m glad they’re well behaved.

So what happened yesterday? To say the least, it was a stressing day. BUT, I don’t want to say the least. Whatever ill-behaved dog that lives in this city was in our grooming salon. As early as 7 am, the groomers were having problems with dogs. Before I got into work at 1, they had used the groomer’s helper (it keeps the dog from thrashing around), muzzled a dog, and just had general chaos.

My afternoon consisted of a Dalmatian mix that I had to send home because she wouldn’t stop growling at people. If someone even looked at her, even from across the room, she’d growl. I didn’t think she’d actually bite, but I also didn’t want to take any unnecessary risks. Once the owner was there, she was fine. Of course the owner did tell us that she was the more stubborn of the two sisters, refusing to learn even the most basic of commands.

Now get this, her sister was there as well and I had no problems out of her. She was a bit shy, but she didn’t growl at me. She didn’t thrash around. She was all around a good girl.

I also had a French Mastiff that was stronger than even the strongest groomer in our salon. He wasn’t a bad dog, but he knew he was strong and made sure to demonstrate his strength by dragging me all over the salon…In hindsight, I bet that would have been pretty funny to see.

There also was a Great Dane. The only problem: he was afraid of everything despite the fact that he’s been there many times.

My other “quirky” dog was a Beagle mix who was sweet, but very energetic and didn’t sit still for anything. I couldn’t do her nails because she kept turning around in circles. I could barely brush her because she was circling. It still makes me dizzy thinking about it.

By the time I got home, I was exhausted, agitated, and wasn’t sure I loved dogs anymore. Then, my sweet babies greeted me at the front door, later on Molly fell asleep on my lap, and finally before I fell asleep Shaffer and Haley cuddled up with me. Yeah, I’m so glad that I these dogs. They’re not perfect, but they are the perfect dogs for me.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

One response to “Why I’m Glad I Own the Dogs I Do

Leave a Reply

