Confirmed Dog Person

I remember when I first started blogging…again. I wrote about depression, dogs, movies, books, and whatever else struck me as a good topic. Lately my posts have been revolving around dogs. At first I was reluctant, but since my whole life revolves around dogs, I realize now that I’ve found my blogging niche.

I think the reason why I haven’t had near as many depressed episodes is due to a combination between dogs and medication. I still have my moments, but they’re not as bad. Even when I have a fairly bad episode, I know I still have to care for the dogs and that gets me out of bed.

It sounds bad, but I prefer to cuddle with my dogs before cuddling with my husband, but then again I’ve always been like that. I show affection to animals, but I find it hard to show affection to people (outside of my parents). I haven’t quite figured that out, but I do remember that the author of Pack of Two wrote about something similar in the book. She wrote about how her family wasn’t an affectionate family, but they would show affection to the dogs. When they were sitting doing something, someone would reach down and scratch the dog.

So that brings me back to my original question: Why is it so easy to show affection to dogs (and other animals) than it is to people? Is it because with dogs there is a complete trusting relationship that we can’t find with humans? Dogs don’t hide behind masks. What you see is what you get. They are the few creatures on this planet that have seen every side of a human’s personality and still remain loyal. When I’m having a bad day, one of my dogs will sit beside me. They’re not trying to “fix” the situation as humans are wont to do; they’re not trying to make the situation go away; all they are trying to do is offer comfort to a hurting family member.

I guess another reason why I love dogs is, for me, they’ve always been there. I was born into a family who loved dogs and had dogs. When I was old enough, my parents got me a dog (and I don’t even recall asking for one, but I think it was because they missed their American Eskimo Dog, Shep). Even though my parents would sometimes express that they’d like to not have the “burden” of owning dogs; that if their current dogs die off they won’t acquire anymore. Twice this has happened and twice my parents have adopted another dog or two and they say that they can’t imagine their lives without them. I can’t imagine my life without dogs either.

I didn’t mean to get all philosophical with this post, despite the fact that I love philosophy. I just noticed that I haven’t posted in a couple weeks (been sick, busy, or both) and I decided to just do a reflection piece about my love for dogs.

Oh, and Shaffer is staying with us. I’ve just decided that we’ll figure out some kind of compromise with him. Besides, I’m attached to that annoying dog. He’s my dog and there’s nothing anyone can do to change that.

So, until next time keep your toys close, your humans closer, and your human’s hamburger closest.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

