Full House: Beautiful Chaos

As I type, there are six dogs in our little, bitty house. How’d that happen when I only have three? Did each of them split in half?

Well I offered to dog sit for one of our salon clients. She’s a nine year old Shih Tzu (Toffee). Yesterday, my mom had to take an emergency trip and wasn’t sure when she was coming back so she dropped her eighteen month old Toy Poodle mix (Ebony) and two and a half year old Rat Terrier (Penny) at our house.

Yesterday it was a bit chaotic. The cats were mad. Toffee barked at the other dogs. Penny, Molly, Haley, and Ebony played. Shaffer, well he just tried to stay out of the way and growled at the other dogs while they played. I don’t completely blame him, between the cats and the dogs he was surrounded by females. What can I say, I like female dogs better than males, it has nothing to do with their personality, it’s just a preference. However, I do like male cats better.

I finally had to separate everyone and shut doors. Finally things quieted down. Then my husband came home. Strangely enough, it wasn’t all that chaotic after he got home, but that was probably because there were two people handling all of the pups. We got them pottied and put to bed. Because they’d been playing all afternoon and evening we didn’t hear a peep from them until eight-thirty this morning. Nine hours of sleep was wonderful.

This morning I put Penny and Shaffer in the backyard and took the four short ones (Toffee, Molly, Haley, and Ebony) out front. At first they weren’t leashed and they went in five different directions. No, I didn’t make a mistake. Four dogs went in five different directions. Don’t ask how that is possible. I had to chase Molly and Ebony down. Eventually I had a small, black dog under each arm. Needless to say they got leashed. They decided to wrap their leashes around my back so the leash in my right hand was at my left leg and the leash in my left hand was at my right leg. By the time I got untangled, both were searching for a place to potty.

Where were Toffee and Haley? Doing their own thing. They’re old enough to know that running off yields nothing but a lecture and a leash. Once Toffee, Ebony, and Molly pottied, I put them in the house and drug Haley around the yard until she did something. I love Shih Tzu and I will always have at least two hanging around, but they are so stubborn and want things their own way…which is probably why I like them so much.

Following the morning potty is breakfast. While on the phone with my mom telling her about how much of a brat Ebony is, I devised a feeding plan. Shaffer and Penny would get fed outside, Molly in her crate, Ebony and Haley in the living room and Toffee in the spare bedroom (also known as the dog’s bedroom). I ended up feeding Ebony and Haley in the spare bedroom and Toffee in the living room, but it worked. Everyone got fed and it wasn’t even chaotic; it was organized albeit a bit noisy. It’s a wonder my husband didn’t complain about all of the noise.

Right now Shaffer is dozing off by the door, Toffee on the back of my chair, and the other four are playing in the spare bedroom. Mother is coming later on to pick up her pups. It was fun having six dogs. If only our house was a bit bigger, I’d dog sit more often.

Until next time remember tug-of-war is a way of life.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

