Ciel and Pip

Yesterday, my husband and I added two new family members to our menagerie of pet-children. It’s a funny story how I got them…okay, not necessarily funny, but interesting.

Working where I do, I’m exposed to many animals of all shapes and sizes. Since the grooming salon is in the back of the store I have to pass by most of these animals. Among these animals are rats.

A few years back, I had pet rats. I really enjoyed them and I didn’t realize how much I missed them until I started spending more and more time passing their cages and stopping to look at them.

At first it was just a quick stop to see if we had any rats. If we did, I’d say how cute they were, but remind myself that these were male rats and I had female rats. I didn’t want male rats. It has nothing to do with male rat personalities, but with their dangly male parts. It’s kind of weird to see. So I decided that I’d go to another store in Norman where they carried only female rats.

Then my desire to get pet rats again got stronger and stronger. Soon I didn’t care if I got males or females, I just wanted to have them again. It finally came to a head on Monday. My husband wanted to know what I wanted for my birthday which is tomorrow. I didn’t know what I wanted at first, but then I stopped at the rats again. Yep, I wanted rats for my birthday.

I asked one of the people in pet care to see one of the rats. She told me about a rat they had for adoption that only had one eye. I wanted to see him and immediately fell in love with him. I was going to make him mine.

Then yesterday my husband and I went shopping and we came home with a bunch of rat stuff, the one-eyed rat, and another one so he could have a little friend. I held them a little last night. I was going to wait to name them, but I started to look up names.

Eventually I settled on Ciel for the one-eyed rat, named after a boy in Black Butler who lost his eye, and Pip for the other rat. Pip is the main character in the novel Great Expectations.

So…that brings the amount of pets up to: three dogs, four cats, and two rats. Eventually we’re going to get a ferret because my husband wants one. Yeah, we’re crazy, but that’s okay.

Until next time, keep your whiskers clean.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

