Perfect Evening; Perfect Dogs

Out of boredom, I took Haley and Shaffer out front so Shaffer could roam around and Haley could play fetch. Neither dog did much of either task I’d thought they’d do and eventually Shaffer rested on the front walkway and Haley on the porch.

Around that time the neighborhood children appeared riding their bikes. I marveled that kids these days still enjoyed playing outside and I realized that there is hope for the future generations. Well, I hope there’s hope. Only time will tell.

While the kids rode back and forth in front of our house, I realized that though my dogs watched the kids with interest, neither one made any attempt to chase after the kids. They were perfectly content to just sit and watch. Once Shaffer did jump up because a child ran by, but with a quick correction, he immediately settled back down; once again content to watch the children play.

As I though about these dogs, I realized that I have “perfect” dogs. Okay, so they’re not perfect-perfect, but they are really good dogs. For the most part they have no behavioral issues. They know multiple commands. They go to bed when it’s time. They come when called (well Shaffer does, Haley has to figure out if she gets a benefit out of it). Yeah, my dogs are a bit spoiled, but I really can’t complain about them…well except Shaffer’s jumping the fence, but I’ve come to over look that.

Several people have come into the salon and described their dogs as crazy. One lady even said her dog was a “crack baby.” I’ll admit, that little guy was active, but he was super sweet.

This might sound a bit self-righteous, or at least like gloating, but the more I’m around other people’s dogs the more I appreciate my dogs. I appreciate Shaffer’s “do nothing” personality. I like Haley’s stubbornness. I’d even write fondly of Molly if she were living with me right now (she’s staying with my mom for a few months).

I couldn’t ask for better dogs. I’m used to them and they’re used to me. If it were only my dogs and me I think my life would be a lot less stressful and a lot more harmonious.

 

Until next time, find a kid with rollerblades and see if they’ll let you pull them down the street.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

