Rats! I did it again!

So…I decided to go by the OKC Animal Welfare Division today. I wasn’t looking for anything or anyone special, I just had a day off and felt compelled to visit the shelter. This particular shelter is a very nice shelter. Most of the animals, especially the kittens or mothers with puppies, have suites rather than cages and people can go in and play with the animals. For the ones who have to be in cages, there are three rooms designated for people to take the dogs out of the cages and play with the dogs to see if the dog is compatible with their lifestyle. However, there aren’t just dogs and cats at this shelter. They sometimes get exotics in and there is a special room for exotic animals. This is where my tail…er tale begins.

As I was walking toward the dog area, motion caught my eye and I looked in a room and saw two large aquariums with rats in each one. I assumed one held males and one held females. After a short wait, one of the shelter workers (or volunteers) retrieved the key so I could go in. I was immediately drawn to the male rats, not simply because I have males, but because of the size of a couple of the males in the aquarium. Mind you, I’ve always wanted a large rat which is the reason why my colony consists of males rather than females.

After little deliberation, I decided that I wanted to adopt two of the males. Their adoption price? $1.00 each. I didn’t adopt them right then, though. I glanced at the kittens in their suites and then looked at the dogs. I wasn’t drawn to any, except two Shih Tzu who had just come out of spay/neuter surgery, but since my husband won’t let me have another Shih Tzu, I didn’t pursue them any further than to inquire when they were ready for adoption.

Then it was time to adopt my rats. I couldn’t find two dollars in my purse so I had to use my debit card. A couple workers and I laughed about how people rarely use cash anymore and how cash is always the first thing spent in our purses. After signing some paperwork, I chose my two rats and drove home.

No, my story doesn’t end there.

I put the rats in one of the ferret cage while I went to get an aquarium from work. I know actual rat cages are better for them, but until I can order one I settled for an aquarium. While paying for the aquarium, I thought about the other two male rats that I left behind. “Monday,” I told myself. “Monday I’ll go get them.”

So I returned home knowing that I wouldn’t get them Monday.

I put the new boys and my boys in the aquarium together. I expected them to bicker or something, but they immediately sniffed at each other and groomed each other. Positive sign. Even more positive was that the aquarium would hold six rats.

Yep, I fished five dollars from my tip jar and drove back to the shelter to get the other two boys. They weren’t surprised to see me again. They were happy that the boys were going to a good home. If I had two or three more cages and money to spay/neuter my rats, I would have walked out of there with the females too.

When I got home I added the two boys to the rest. Everyone groomed each other and piled up for a nice nap. The new boys are so much bigger than my boys, but they all act as if they’ve known each other their entire lives. Below is a picture of a pile of rats. Sorry it is kind of hard to see, had I taken the lid off the rats would have scattered.

The six posts after this one is an up close and personal look at each of my boys. Enjoy…

Image

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

