Controling My Desires

Hoarding comes from some kind of hidden desire or need to possess or control something. Knowing that makes me wonder what is my problem. I know how to control my desires of acquiring more rats or more dogs, but from time to time I desire more. I want more rats, despite the fact that I haven’t completed the cages I’m building so space is limited. I want more dogs despite the fact that we’re financially unable to support another dog or two. I know all of this and I manage to keep from bringing them home, but that doesn’t dull the fact that for some odd reason I want them.

I do admit that I know what my problem is concerning the dogs. Right now because we’re in the process of cleaning house I don’t have any dogs to care for. I finally had to return Schaffer to the vet due to an unfortunate near-miss with some children next door (he acted like he was going to attack them and might have with the way he lunged at them). My husband wasn’t that happy, but he eventually realized that the legal fees had the dog bitten the children would have been exorbitant. As for my other three, they’re staying with my mom. Perhaps I’ll bring my puppy back sometime this week, but we’ll see.

Strangely enough, I’m actually picky about the type of dog I want. I want an Australian Cattle Dog (aka Blue Heeler). I’ve always wanted one and I had one briefly, but since ACDs strongly bond to one person my little girl had bonded with my dad and it wasn’t a bond that could be broken. I guess I’m trying to hold out until we get a bigger house and more money before I bring in another ACD, preferably a puppy.

Visiting the animal shelter helps a whole lot. I’m able to play with the puppies and rats without worrying about taking them home with me. I should finish up the volunteer application and perhaps just start volunteering at the animal shelter. That probably would help my desires a whole lot. I’d be taking care of the animals on someone else’s dime, so to speak. I could also offer to pet sit for people. That would also help. Fostering too would work. Many shelters and rescues in this area always need foster homes.

Honestly, what I really need to do is get out of the house and go somewhere. Maybe once I get a job all of these desires will go away. Only time will tell.

I know this post was more of a ramble than anything important. I guess I just wanted to get my thoughts out. I really need to go by rat food, but I’m too lazy to get dressed.

Well, until next time…hug those puppies of yours for me.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

