Doggy Buggy

I have toy dogs. Three of them, but only two of them are currently living with me, my puppy is with my mom. Two of them are purebred Shih Tzu and the puppy is a Shih Tzu-Yorkie mix. I love to take them to Petsmart and Petco. It gets them out of the house and socializes me. Sometimes I let them walk, but other times I put them in the shopping cart as it is much easier to shop without them pulling this way and that.

Since I have toy dogs, I have certain urges to be that dog owner. You’ve met that dog owner and are possibly one yourself if you love your dogs as much as I love mine. I want to be that owner who dresses her dogs up (for photo shoots only, I don’t do dressing them up to go out in public, at least not yet), cuddles them, spoils them, feed them from [plastic] spoons and forks. Mostly, I want to be that owner that puts her dogs in a stroller.

Some people laugh at the strollers. I used to. I thought it was undignified. “Dogs aren’t children. They can walk on their own four paws.” But there is a part of me that realizes that strollers do have their place.

Several years ago, my mother and I were shopping at Hobby Lobby when we saw a woman with a stroller. We didn’t think anything of it until we realized that there was a Yorkie in the stroller and not a baby. As long as the Yorkie was in the stroller, no one minded the dog’s presence.

Another instance was when a lady brought her dogs into the salon to get their nails done. She had three little Chihuahuas in a stroller. Even though I wanted to think that she was that owner, I really couldn’t. I wouldn’t want to fight with three tiny dogs and their leashes, trying to untangle them when they get wrapped around each other or me. Or, if I had them on a coupler had to deal with them trying to go in opposite directions. In this case it was a practical thing.

Hence the reason why I want a dog stroller. I have toy dogs and taking them out shopping can be difficult battling with leashes, them sniffing here, them sniffing there…it’s all fine and good at first, but it gets old really fast. Not to mention Haley has food allergies and there are always pieces of dog food on the floor that she tries to get to. A stroller would keep her from eating anything and everything and it also leaves my hands free while I shop. It’s practical.

Like I need to justify myself to anyone…

Like I need to justify myself to myself…

Why don’t I just allow myself to become that owner? Why don’t I just go out, buy a stroller, dress up my dogs, take them out, call them my furbabies, and be done with it? The only answer is: because I haven’t done it yet. I keep putting it off. I’m too lazy. Yep, that’s what holds me back, my own laziness.

I guess it isn’t such a bad thing. My husband would kill me if I dressed up my dogs. My philosophy? If it doesn’t bother the dog then it doesn’t bother me. My dogs don’t mind being dressed up. In fact in the wintertime they love their coats and get excited when I pull them out. They love their harnesses too. So why not dress them up from time to time? They’re cute dogs. I should show off their cuteness.

Yes, I am a bit vain, I apologize.

Sorry if the last two posts have been kind of random. I’m just writing as my brain fires out words and phrases. I think I’m coming to the end of the words and phrases that my brain has stored up. So…

Until next time, that little pink shirt matches your eyes.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

