Seasons of Change

I really wish I could get back into the swing of my weekly posts. For some odd reason, after a hiatus it is hard to start up again. I’m going to try to write more, but I can’t make any promises.

I have a new job. I’ve finally put my Masters in Library and Information Studies to good use and am now a full-fledged librarian at a Catholic university about forty minutes from my house. My official title is Reference/Circulation Librarian, but I wear more hats than that as there are only three librarians. It’s a small, comfortable campus and I work in a small, comfortable yet spooky, library. I’ve been assured that the library isn’t haunted. No, it’s not, but Oklahoma can be windy and the building is ancient so when the wind blows the windows rattle. Not necessarily a sound one wants to hear when they’re in the library by themselves at night.

Oh, yes, I work until ten at night. It’s not bad. I have student workers who keep me company most of the time. On Thursday nights though I close by myself, that’s when the silence of the library is deafening. Oddly enough, it’s music to my ears.

The good thing about being a librarian is I have a whole lot of time to write which means that I might be able to blog more often.

Haley and Molly are back with us. I couldn’t stand being without them anymore and I’m so glad that they’re back. They’re amusing little girls.

Oh, speaking of dogs, the university allows dogs that are being trained as therapy dogs. In fact there are two Australian Shepherd dogs that come visit the library from time to time. Seeing them makes me want to get my dogs certified as therapy dogs. I think it would be fun and beneficial for all of us. It would be one more thing that I could do with my dogs.

So what is it like working as a librarian? Fun, but it’s not for everyone. No, we don’t read books all the time even though I have spent hours reading in the evenings. Most of the time we provide computer services to the students. We help the professors as well. Next month I’ll be able to do some library instruction for a Freshman Comp I class. I can’t wait. This is what I was trained for and it’s nice to finally do what I was trained to do.

You’re probably wondering what happened with the grooming job. I quit after my boss only scheduled me to work one day a week, but newer bathers were getting several days a week. I figured that it wasn’t worth it anymore. So, I quit and began searching for a job in a relevant field to my Masters. That’s how I ended up as a librarian. I don’t regret it either.

Don’t get me wrong, the grooming job was so much fun, but the people (mostly women) were a bit difficult to deal with. After getting ill-behaved dog after ill-behaved dog, I realized that I love dogs too much to work with them on a daily basis. I also loved my sanity too much to work with my co-workers and the dog owners.

Besides, I get paid a whole lot more now and have been able to buy almost everything that I want in the two paychecks that I’ve already received. Basically, what I make in a month now it would take me two or three months to make at my old job.

Now it’s time to save up so I can make a nice down payment on a house by this time next year, if not sooner. Fingers crossed.

Well that’s about it for this post. I should have another post ready before 10, if not at least within the next twenty-four hours.

Until next time, get ready to spring forward

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

