Scientist at Heart

The perks of being a librarian…unlimited access to information. The downside to being a librarian…unlimited access to information.

Since I work for a university, I have access to our library databases which means that whenever the mood strikes, I can find articles on topics I’m interested in. My topics of focus usually revolved around dogs, writing, hobbies, dogs, Steampunk, and dogs.

I’m obsessed.

I usually print these articles off, save the PDFs to my computer or email them to myself. If I have nothing pressing at work to do, I could spend hours searching for articles, looking at the references of articles so I can find more articles. And for what? Most of the time the printed articles get holes punched into them and are put in a binder for future use. The digital ones are usually left on my computer or in my email for future use. As of yet, I haven’t done anything with these articles.

I do have high hopes for these articles and for my research. I want to write academic papers about some of the stuff I read, or at least a bibliography (maybe even complete with an index so I know if the article is in a binder or on my email). I guess the reason why I haven’t done the former is I don’t really have a narrow topic in mind. Should I do dog behavior? Should I do the relationship between dogs and their owners? Should I write about human behavior at the dog park? There are so many ideas in mind, but I can’t pinpoint just one.

As for the latter, I just haven’t done it yet. Besides, that would be an ongoing project and probably something I’ll have to do on my Google drive so that I can work on it anywhere. APA, MLA, Chicago? Not sure which. As a humanities undergrad, I used MLA. As a grad student, I used Chicago. However, if this article was considered psychology it would be APA. So many decisions!

I should probably start at the beginning. I should list things that I am interested in and then list things within that specific topic. It’s probably the best place to start…a place I rarely started when I was writing papers for class.

My head is spinning now. I feel a million hands reaching out of my head trying to be the first to grasp a really good idea.

I think I’m over thinking this.

Until next time…no matter if you’re an old dog, new dog, or do in your prime keep learning tricks.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

2 responses to “Scientist at Heart

Leave a Reply

