A Funny Looking Shih Tzu

My mother commutes half an hour to and from work and she worries about her little Toy Poodle mix that is left home alone. I think my mother is more concerned about the dog than the dog is actually concerned. Ebony usually hops up on the love seat and sleeps the entire day. Still…

I decided that I’d look into getting Ebony a companion. I scoured the Internet from local rescues, animal shelters, and CraigsList. I even looked at ads in different areas of the state as I was willing to drive up to a couple hours to pick up a dog.

Pretty much all that I tried failed. People didn’t email back, or the dog was already adopted, or the “re-homing fee” was too expensive. It became an obsession. The more elusive the dog was, the more I wanted to find it.

Then I came across an ad for a Shih Tzu. The adoption fee was $40. There was no picture, but I sent a text anyway. There was a response and the dog was still available. I made arrangements to pick her up on Friday; that was two days away. I knew that the person would give the dog away in that time. It had happened to me time and time again.

The person also sent me pictures of the dog. It was a cute gray and white dog…well kind of cute. It looked like a funny looking Shih Tzu to me. Still, I was determined to have her for my mom and Ebony.

On Thursday, I confirmed that I was still meeting the person. We were still meeting. I was scared though. Anything could happen in that time.

Friday morning came. I took care of the animals and left the house. I finally got there and picked up the dog. She was heavy. She smelled of dirt and outside. Her snout was oddly long for a Shih Tzu. I didn’t care. As long as she was healthy she was fine. Her name was Veve. I took her home and introduced her to my dogs and Ebony. I expected a lot of bickering or yelping, but they all wagged their tails at each other and then that was it. She was part of the pack.

She looked very funny-looking compared to my Shih Tzu girls. Her snout was obviously too long. Her head was all wrong. I decided there were two reasons for this: either she was a poorly bred Shih Tzu or, most likely, she wasn’t a Shih Tzu at all, but a breed that shared common features with a Shih Tzu. At first I thought she was a Havanese, but her head and body didn’t match.

While mother cooked lentils, I did a quick search about the difference between the Lhasa Apso and the Shih Tzu. Though they have many similarities, the biggest difference between them is the shape of the head and the length of the snout (something that is difficult to tell when the dogs have long hair). I showed mother the picture of the Lhasa Apso and it matched that of the dog. Suddenly she went from being a funny-looking Shih Tzu to a lovely little Lhasa Apso.

We renamed her Nikky and because it was so close to her old name she responded to it immediately.

Mother, Ebony and Nikky are getting along. Last night Mother told me that Nikky and Ebony were chasing each other up and down the stairs. She sent me a picture of Nikky sleeping. I think this is the start to a beautiful friendship.

Until next time…don’t forget that even though you’re a funny-looking Shih Tzu, you’re a beautiful Lhaso Apso.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

