Sleeping With Dogs

By the way, my husband and I have yet another dog. I know. Every time I blog I seem to have another dog. Her name is Jinks. The shelter had her listed as a German Shepherd, but she looks more like a Jack Russell/Boxer mix. Perhaps sometime this week I’ll get a chance to post a picture of her.

Anyway, on to the actual story.

The other day, my husband and I decided that we’d try letting all five dogs sleep with us. We sleep on two twin mattresses pushed together, so there was no lack of space. Or so I thought.

Ares and Jinks slept on the floor on a blanket and on a dog bed. The Shih Tzus slept on the bed with us. They’re a lot more restless than Ares and Jinks. They changed positions, woke us up several times, and so on. My husband eventually took Clara downstairs because she was licking him (turns out she had to potty) and I later took Molly down because she too was restless.

All of that wouldn’t have been so bad if the Shih Tzus would sleep smack dab against me. Even if I moved them, they’d return. So I had three little dogs sleeping against me and then trading places. Sometimes they were at my feet, sometimes curled up at my abdomen, other times sharing the pillow with me.

Needless to say, I didn’t sleep well that night. The Shih Tzus haven’t slept with us since.

Ares and Jink sleep with us still, but they’re only allowed on my husband’s mattress. It doesn’t bother him if the dogs are up against him. He just sleeps right through the night. Lucky! I envy people who have no problems sleeping.

So, I guess I’ve learned my lesson. Or at least for right now. I imagine that soon I’ll want my beloved little girls with me again and for a few moments I will enjoy the bonding that we have and then I’ll say “Never again!” At least until next time.

Yeah, a short post. Go me!

Until next time, make sure you take over the whole bed. Just because you’re small doesn’t mean you can’t boot your humans off the bed.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

