Pup Resolutions

Happy New Year!!!!

I try not to have New Year’s resolutions, per se. Or at least I don’t call them that. I call them goals. Though I have several for myself–mostly writing and scrapbooking goals–I also have some for the pups.

One of them is spending more time with each individual. I always treat my girls as a pack; what one does the others also do (other than baths, I can’t handle bathing more than one at a time). This year I want to interact with them on a one-on-one basis; which is easier said than done. My girls are so bonded with each other that if one of them is by herself, she stays by my bedroom door until she’s allowed to go back with them. Go figure. I guess I need to be a more interesting pack member.

Another goal is each dog will learn two new tricks this year. Everyone knows basic obedience, despite the fact that they like to pretend they don’t. However, I want to teach some silly tricks just for the fun of it. Because they’re so chatty, Nia and Luna will learn speak and I’ll probably do agility with them. Also with Nia, since she’s so toy driven, I want to teach her at least ten different toys. I want to teach Clara roll over and maybe play dead or shake. Molly might learn shake and sit up pretty (something she does from time to time, but not on command). I don’t know what to teach Haley. I’ll have to think about it.

I also want to get my dogs so trained that I can get a picture of all five of them sitting still. That’s going to take awhile.

I have some weight goals for Clara, Nia, and Haley. Clara needs to loose and keep off 3 pounds. She’s eleven pounds, but due to her size she needs to be about 8. I’ve been cutting back on her food, but she always finds something to eat whether it is edible or not. Nia and Haley need to gain weight. Haley needs to be around fourteen pounds and Nia around sixteen; both are around ten or eleven.

Lastly, and the most important, I want to make it through 2016 without adopting another dog. That doesn’t include inheriting dogs. It just means that I will not pursue an addition to the family canine wise. Rats are a different story.

Well those are my dog related resolutions (goals). Do you or your pets have resolutions for this year? If so, let me know in the comments.

Fun fact: The study of dogs is Cynology. I found that out a couple days ago.

Anyway, until next time if your human wants to exercise more, make sure to help them by stealing things and making them chase you. Good human!

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

One response to “Pup Resolutions

Leave a Reply

