Day 1: Bear in My Living Room

It’s been awhile. I’ve been poked and prodded by doctors (more prodded than poked) and my neurologist thinks that my seizures are anxiety-related, but I don’t have an official diagnosis.

So today I decided that I’ve had enough. Since medication isn’t helping right now, I’m trying a different route: a thirty day journey of taking care of myself. During these thirty days I’ll concentrate on the good things in life and take it easy on myself.

I also decided that I needed a teddy bear to hold during my anxiety attacks which meant that I had to break one of my goals for 2016: not get another dog. I deemed breaking this goal was acceptable as I planned on teaching this teddy bear to help me. I needed something large and sturdy that I could hug. Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t trying to replace my precious girls, but they’re small, fragile, and active. I needed laid back. A lab despite the fact that I dislike labs? Akita? Aussie? Heeler? I know, a Great Pyrenees/St. Bernard mix. I had one of those when I was a kid and he was great!

I thought I found one as well. Unfortunately he got adopted before I could. Another dog I was interested in was an Aussie mix. The people never got back to me about visiting him. I decided that it wasn’t meant to be. I needed to train up one of my current dogs.

Then I saw the ad: Free Chow. It was three hours old by the time I emailed the owner. I was sure that he was gone. He wasn’t. I picked him up today. He looks like a bear cub. He’s black with a brown band. Pictures to come. He’s about a year old, which gives me a year to socialize him so he won’t imprint on my girls and me and become very territorial. It think it will be good for both of us.

His name was Ferguson, but I changed it to Buddy since that was what I had already been calling him. I hate the fact that it is such a generic name, but I think it is fitting because of the reason why I got him and that was to be my buddy.

The girls don’t mind him, but he’s a little afraid of them. I don’t blame him. Five little fast dogs can be overwhelming. I’m sure they’ll be friends by the end of the month.

So…yeah…there are six dogs living with me. That’s the cut off. No more dogs.

Famous last words huh?

Anyway, I figure that for the next thirty days I’m going to post something every day, so be prepared to be inundated with posts. I’m going to go now and chill.

Until next time, Teddy Bears rule!!!

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

