Day 2: My Paradise

I had a pretty good day, but I am exhausted. I took Buddy for a walk this morning. We have a park just down the street and that’s where we went. Despite it sprinkling, there were kids playing in the splash pad. When they saw Buddy, they stopped and stared. They may have said something to me, but I had ear buds in my ears so I couldn’t hear them.

I did take Buddy over to meet them. Buddy wasn’t too sure at first, but he allowed the kids to pet him. I told them that he was a Chow Chow and that he had a blue tongue. The kids then tried to get a look of his tongue; some saw it, some didn’t. The adult who was watching the kids herded them back to the splash pad and I thanked for for letting the children pet Buddy because he needs to be socialized. We then walked home.

He pooed on the way home. Good thing I had six poo bags with me. I used all of them because his stool was soft and the ground was wet. I did the best I could and the rain was just going to have to wash the rest of it away.

When we got home I tried to take a nap. Buddy found out that he could torment the other dogs. He would go into the kitchen and watch them. Most of the time, they’re penned in the utility room and whenever Buddy went back there they’d bark at him. He also decided that he needed to keep an eye on the rats and any sound they made he would jump up and run to their cage.

Just when I was getting warm and slipping into a peaceful slumber, Buddy decided to mess with his sisters. The bottom baby gate fell down and the next thing I knew there were six dogs running around in my living room. It was time for everyone to go outside. So we did.

I stayed with them to make sure there would be no fights. None. Each dog did his or her own thing. It was peaceful. I left them to go buy dog food and groceries.

Back at the house, the dogs had fared well in the backyard. I ate, rested, and then fed the dogs. It went smoother than anticipated; I’m not complaining. After dinner, we went back outside and I realized that for my personality, my life is pretty much paradise: a big Victorian house, a privacy fence surrounding my large backyard, my dogs, being on my own…it’s wonderful.

When it was time to come inside, Buddy didn’t want to. So we ran around the backyard for a little bit. I’m so used to little dogs that I don’t even remember how to play with bigger dogs. If he got too worked up, I’d tell him to settle down. He would stop and dart off, hoping I’d chase him.

Finally, I got him inside. We’re all exhausted. In a little bit the dogs are going to go outside one last time then I’m putting the girls to bed. Buddy will hang out with me until I go to bed.

I have to say, this is one of the best days I’ve had recently. I’m starting to have more and more better days. It might be because the spring showers are almost done and we’re getting more sun. Whatever the reason, I hope I continue to have more days like this. Still, to keep me grounded, I don’t want all of my days to be great. I want a few bad days from time to time to remind me of where I’ve come from and the struggles I have had and probably will continue to have. But, for now, I’m going to revel in the fact that I had a fun day.

Until next time run like someone left the gate open and play as if you have no worries or curfew.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

