Day 5: Blah, I Repeat Blah

I don’t know how I feel. I don’t feel bad, but I don’t feel good. My anxiety level was low, but I could feel it simmering, like if someone looked at me wrong or a pencil fell off the desk, I would lose it. Fortunately I didn’t lose it.

Some people from a neighborhood church came by the house handing out pamphlets. When they knocked, Buddy barked. It made me feel safe, but I wondered what he’d do. I leashed him and opened the door, putting him into a sit. I stood over him and talked with the people. When I cracked open the screen door to take the pamphlets, Buddy decided that he’d go and meet these people and out he took us.

I explained to him that he wasn’t a mean dog, but was just large. He greeted them like a perfect gentleman with a sniff and a wagging tail. When they turned to go, he wanted to go with them. He seems to hate the idea that someone would have the nerve to pass him and not say hi. I guess what I’m saying is I’m proud of Buddy.

Outside of that, not much happened today. Buddy and I did go for a walk and visited with some neighbors along the way. I gave him an update on how he’s been doing these past few days. They were pleased that he went from a rebellious runaway to a pleasant community member in just a short while. I had to brag on him and tell them that he’s the best behaved dog out of all of my dogs and he’s the youngest.

I’ve gotten more exercise these past few days than I have in the past few months. He always wants to go for a walk. We can get home from a walk and he wants to go back out. A Dogs 101 video said that Chows are generally content just lazing around the house, although exercise is mandatory. I do admit that Buddy is content to laze around, but when he wants to go out, he wants to go out. Sometimes I indulge him and other times I tell him to lay down because it is too hot to go for a walk. He grudgingly complies.

Right now he’s snoozing on the floor. We’ll be going to bed soon and we’ll probably have a repeat of last night.

Me: Okay Buddy, bedtime.

Buddy: *lifts head and looks at me, puts head back down*

Me: Come on baby, let’s go upstairs.

Buddy: *No response*

This goes on for two or three minutes. He rolled on his back and I gave him a belly rub. I tried to roll him over on his feet, but he thought it was playtime. Eventually, I got him up and sent him upstairs. We settled in and about ten or fifteen minutes later he was snoozing again.

I can’t complain, though. It makes me laugh and I take every opportunity to laugh even if something isn’t all that funny. It makes me feel good.

Well, I’m going to finish watching a YouTube video and then call it a night. Tomorrow is Monday; not that it’s special or anything. Since I don’t work I like Mondays because on Sundays everything opens late and closes early which means that errands usually have to wait.

So until next time, good night, sleep tight, and chase those squirrels in your sleep.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

