Day 12: Solitary Walk

Either it was due to the weather or everyone was at church, but there was only one person at the park when we arrived. He had a Golden Retriever puppy that he’d raised since it was only a day or two old. He didn’t know the circumstances of how the puppy ended up at the vet, but he nursed the puppy and he appeared to be a happy, healthy, two or three month old puppy. He and Buddy sniffed at each other, but that was pretty much it.I talked with the man for a couple minutes and then we continued our walk.

Normally there are children playing on the splash pad, but there were no children. As we walked around, it felt eerie; surreal. It was so quiet.

A man played Frisbee golf. He was there around the same time everyday. As Buddy and I walked toward him, I thought about had I been walking by myself I would either turn around and walk the other way or I would have put my head down and hurried by. I have this strange fear of men. I’m not even sure why.

By the time we were leaving the park, people were trickling in. Some kids rode their bikes through the splash pad, a man and his children jogged to the park. Further up the street a woman, perhaps the mom, pushed a stroller.

It was an uneventful walk. It was nice, though. I wonder which of us–Buddy or me–enjoys the walks more.

I think I slept wrong because my back and neck are killing me. Normally something like that would have stopped me from leaving the house, but Buddy requires a daily walk…or am I the one who requires the walk? Either way, we make good walking buddies.

Well, that’s really all I have to say. Until next time, enjoy a quiet walk.

 

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

