Day 15: Putting Myself On a Schedule

It was so hot today that the dogs and I slept on and off until four this afternoon. Buddy and I didn’t get to go on our walk until close to nine and even then it was still very hot. The humidity isn’t helping either. Summer has arrived in Oklahoma even though it doesn’t officially begin until next week.

Hotter days means higher electricity which means that if I need to do any work in the house, it will have to take place early in the morning or in the evening. The afternoons will be spent resting, playing computer games, writing, scrapbooking, or anything else that doesn’t require much movement.

All of this means I have to put myself on a schedule. I need to go to bed at a reasonable time (I usually call it a night at 3 in the morning) so that I can get up at a decent time to take Buddy for a walk before it gets too hot. Needless to say, I’m not fond of this new schedule because I am a night owl and I love being a night owl. Plus, if I go to bed too early, then I’m wide awake at four or five in the morning and I can’t go back to sleep. Then again, I can always walk Buddy that early and when we got back we could go back to sleep. It’s an idea.

Also, I need to figure out a way to make some extra pocket change and I need to get my lawn sprayed for pests and weeds (but I think I covered that a few days ago). So much to do, so little motivation.

On a lighter note, the dogs and rats are doing well. Buddy has learned that he is not allowed to bother the rats despite the fact that they intentionally provoke him. I keep a spray bottle around to spray the dogs when they’re doing something I don’t want them to do. Everyone, but Molly, avoids the spray bottle. Molly loves water, so it’s difficult to correct her in the rare case that she misbehaves. It’s mostly for the baby gate jumpers. Anyway, Buddy will sometimes attack the rats’ cage in order to get to them. I’ve only had to spritz him once or twice. Now, all I have to do is pick up the water bottle and he backs away from the cage. He really is the best behaved one out of my group.

I apologize for the past few posts being only pictures, I’ve been dealing with some depression and anxiety. The anxiety isn’t as bad, but the depression is still hanging out with me. I guess as long as it doesn’t try to smother me I won’t fight it. I just feel empty though; not happy, not sad, just here. I know that it will go away, but it sure is annoying while it is here.

One consolation is that Buddy lets me hug him and even rest my head on his back. He makes everything better. He certainly is my teddy bear.

Until next time, don’t let the summer heat get you down and if you’re not experiencing this horrible heat, don’t brag.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my six dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a Reply

