Brief Update

I’m still alive, I just took a break for a few months. Part of it was because I took Haley’s death hard. Another part was I was having some health problems and had to have surgery and spent a month recovering. The last part was I just couldn’t bring myself to write anything.

So, here’s a brief update on what’s been going on in my life. Warning: Some of the information might be TMI.

  1. A few days after my birthday, Sy and I adopted a new puppy. His name is Orion and he’s a Great Pyrenees/ St. Bernard mix. He’s six months today and is over 50 pounds. He gets along with the other dogs. Buddy mostly tolerates him, but sometimes he has to get onto Orion for playing too rough.
  2. I had a hysterectomy in late August (yes, I was recovering while taking care of seven dogs, including a 3 month old puppy). I didn’t realize how sick I was until I realized that I felt so much better as soon as I woke up from the surgery. Up until my surgery, I had just learned how to deal with a enlarged uterus. I adapted my life around it. I tried not to drop things because bending down was a difficult task. I called Sy or one of the mechanics at m job to help me with heavy things. Basically I didn’t do anything that would make things worse. Now that I’ve fully healed, I can go back to being myself again and I couldn’t be happier.
  3. Did I ever mention that I have a new job? I’ll be here a year next month. I work for a car dealership. I clean out the repo cars and hold the property for the customers until they come to pick it up (or until 30 days pass). It can be stressful when dealing with people and I understand their frustration, but sometimes I think, “Is cussing me out really necessary? Do you think that will help your case any?” I stay calm and usually the person calms down. Sometimes they don’t, but oftentimes when I meet them in person, they’re very calm. I guess they just needed a good night’s sleep, some self-reflection, and a good meal.
  4. Last week my mom had to put down her beloved Lhasa Apso named Nikky (you can read more about her here). Nikky had left us long before she was put to sleep. She had the dog equivalent of Dementia. Half of the time she didn’t even know what was going on. She just stared into space, paced, fell asleep…rinse and repeat. When I saw her last (a few days before she died) she barely recognized me. She knew she knew me, but didn’t know who I was exactly. She was in a bad state and her quality of lift was nil. Ebony, her companion for the past 8 years, looked for her for the first day or so. They often slept together and Ebony was confused. Ebony seems to be fine now, mostly because all attention goes to her. I thought she’d be worse off, but she’s fine.

I think that’s about it for right now. I just wanted to stop in and let people know I haven’t died.

Until next time, hold your humans close to you.

About Siege

Hi, I'm Siedra. I live in eastern Oklahoma with my dogs and my rats. I'm a writer, graphic designer and scrapbooker/mixed media artist. My life revolves around my dogs, so I decided to blog about them and pet parenthood in general. When I'm not working, or writing, or scrapbooking, or hanging out with my dogs, or thinking about any or all of the above, I'm probably asleep. View all posts by Siege

Leave a comment